inspirations

Do you find it helpful to work with music or does it distract you? Music has always played an important part in my life since I was a young child. I always wanted to have the radio on when I was in the house. There were many times that my dad said I wore out the radio. In those days radios had tubes in them that would wear out. It did seem that he was always taking the radio in to be fixed. It is true that I have had many different radios over the years. I still like to have music on when I am painting or sketching. I do find that music can be a distraction when I am trying to create a story or work on my books. In some cases music can be an inspiration while there are times it can be a distraction. I think that music can change your mood entirely. Inspiration can be anywhere, in a newspaper article, news broadcast, family and even some past memories. As long as you keep your mind open and pay attention to the world around you there are sources of inspiration that can pop up anywhere. If you are staring at that piece of paper or computer screen and your mind is a blank just look around you or better still move away from it for a while. This might be the time to turn on some music or go for a walk.

About mhembroff

I am the author of Bess's Magical Garden, a middle grade novel and picture book Gramma Mouse Tells a Story. I am the member of the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators, Writers Guild of Alberta and Rave Reviews Book Club. My series The Ghostly Encounters and other short stories can be found on https://www.channillo.com, listed in the short story section. I have been an avid reader since early childhood and has always been imaginative. It wasn't until my children were growing up that I started taking writing classes and put my creations onto paper. When I'm not writing I like to paint, draw, work in the garden and spend time with my pets and family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.