how I started writing

I actually started writing as therapy a few years ago. It was a councilor who suggested that I sit down and write everything out. I did  a lot of writing in a notebook. I filled it in no time and started another. It was my first journal. When I talked to her later she suggested that I might actually have some real talent. That is also when I started to take art lessons.

It was quite some time later when I started taking writing courses and getting some of my characters out of my head onto paper. Some of the things I wrote in those days were very rough but there was some potential there. I had many stops and starts. For years I wrote out my thoughts in a journal which might one day be used in stories.

There are times when I think that I was meant to write at this stage in my life. Some of my ideas come from dreams that I have had in the early morning hours. I have had to have a notebook handy beside my bed and in other parts of the house so that I can write these ideas down before I loose them completely.

I think that inspiration is all around us. We just have to be receptive to what we hear and see. Sometimes stories are in our subconscious waiting to get out. I have found that my best ideas practically write themselves with a little bit of organization and planning. Once I get to know my characters they talk to me continually when I am in the writing process.

I don’t know if I was born to write or not. I always have had an over active imagination which I almost lost at one time. When I started to write things down I found that I was able to start dreaming about stories again. For some reason or other things happening around me where blocking the channels. I find that if I am worrying about other things those channels close up. I have learned to relax and listen to what my subconscious is trying to tell me.

A lot of people seem to know early on in childhood what they want to do when they grow up. I had no such vision. I really didn’t have what a lot of people call a calling or life mission. I never seemed to have any great ambition. At the time I only wanted to get married and have a family and I did. That unfortunately never lasted.  I am now retired and have time to devote to my writing and art. Writing is a lot of hard work but I have found that I enjoy it. Thankfully I am learning to get out of my own way and listen to what my subconscious is telling me. Maybe I was meant to write at this time of my life.

It has always been easier for me to write things down than to say them out loud.

When I started to write my book the ideas came to me naturally. I was having my morning coffee when the idea popped into my head. I had to quickly start writing down some notes. I made a rough outline at first. From reading writing books and taking a writing course I started to learn how to get it down in book form. I felt like I knew my characters and that they were  telling me how the story should go. My book is now at Ashworth College and the instructor is reading it. I am waiting anxiously for their reply. I will then find out what works and what doesn’t. It was hard sending my baby out into the world. It might need a few more revisions yet but it is getting closer.

About mhembroff

I am a graduate student from Ashworth college. I am an artist and belong to a local art club. I am a member of The Writers Guild of Alberta, fighting book worm in the write4kids cbic clubhouse and member of The SCBWI and attend local workshops whenever I can.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to how I started writing

  1. nelle says:

    Best wishes… I know the feeling all too well, how stories form up in our minds. Our sources of inspiration may differ, but what it does to us as stories birth is something we all have in common. Keep following your dreams!

Comments are closed.