Do you have favorite story book charactor and author?

As a child I always identified with Anne in Anne of Green Gables. Part of that reason is probably being raised by older parents. Anne was an imaginative and avid reader the same as I was. She was always getting into trouble all the time and I was too. I read the whole series many times. Like Anne I gradually grew out of those childhood fantasies but I always remained an avid reader. I didn’t start writing until much later in life and have retained that vivid imagination.

Later in life I got LM Montgomery’s journals and I saw some of the author in her books. After reading her journals and the book Lucy Maud Montgomery by Mary Henley Rubio I felt like I knew LM.

She was a woman ahead of her times. She was raised by her grandparents and devoted a good portion of her life to looking after her grandmother. At the same time she was able to earn a descent wage writing.She married late in life to a minister. She had duties  to her parish as well as running a household and raising two boys.She dedicated a good portion of her time to her writting. She wrote a lot of books. Her family was a two income family which wasn’t that common in those days.

About mhembroff

I am a graduate student from Ashworth college. I am an artist and belong to a local art club. I am a member of The Writers Guild of Alberta, fighting book worm in the write4kids cbic clubhouse and member of The SCBWI and attend local workshops whenever I can.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do you have favorite story book charactor and author?

  1. nelle says:

    Character… Idgie in Fried Green Tomatoes, Stephen (woman) in The Well of Loneliness, published in 1928. Authors… lots and lots, from Kate Mosse to Jodi Picoult to Kris Radish to Sue Monk Kidd.

Comments are closed.