inspirations

There have been many artists who have been an inspirations over the years. Some of them are William Alexander who taught a wet in wet technique in oil painting, many local artists including Katie Morris as well as Robert Bateman. I did go on to develop my own style in painting. I am mainly an acrylic painter even though I do like doing pen and ink and pencil drawings.

We sometimes fall into the habit of focusing on learning painting methods and using color that we forget to draw and mainly focus on subject we can paint without drawing. I have recently got myself back to drawing by using a much larger size and using a simple grid. I have always loved painting animals as I have been around animals all my life.

There have been times when I went for a more impressionistic type of painting more like the group of seven. I think it really depends on the subject matter. I have recently learned how to make acrylic transfers which can be a good way to start a painting or start a collection for a collage.

Art has always been a half to not a want to for me. It is simply something I have always had a strong desire to create something. If I don’t listen to that urging in some way I can be a real miserable person and no fun to live with. It makes me a more complete and fulfilled person. It is worse than having that first cup of coffee in the morning which is another must have. I can honestly say that I have an inner motivation. I paint what I like and then I enjoy the process. I must have some kind of emotional attachment to what I paint or draw.

 

 

About mhembroff

I am the author of Bess's Magical Garden, a middle grade novel and picture book Gramma Mouse Tells a Story. I am the member of the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators, Writers Guild of Alberta and Rave Reviews Book Club. My series The Ghostly Encounters and other short stories can be found on https://www.channillo.com, listed in the short story section. I have been an avid reader since early childhood and has always been imaginative. It wasn't until my children were growing up that I started taking writing classes and put my creations onto paper. When I'm not writing I like to paint, draw, work in the garden and spend time with my pets and family.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to inspirations

  1. nelle says:

    I am in awe of those who create with their hands, pulling imagery out of their minds and out into substantive form. I am glad you honour what you feel inside.

Comments are closed.