favorite authors

I have had a lot of writers that I have admired over the years. Some of them are LM Montgomery, Grace Livingston Hill, Pearl Buck, Louisa May Alcott, Bronte Sisters, Jane Austen, Agatha Christie, Earle Stanley Gardener. Those are some of the ones I read as a child and occasionally reread one of them. Some modern-day authors are Kathleen McGowan, W.Michael Gear and Kathleen O’Neal Gear :author of prehistoric people series, Barbara Kalye, Colleen McCullough, Kate Morton. I had recently discovered another older author. I read a couple of Margaret Laurence’s books. She told stories about living on the prairie. That only scratches the surface of the types of literature that I like. All these authors have influenced my style to a certain degree. It is like painting a lot of people influenced my work to start with but after a lot of practice you develop your own style.

It is amazing sometimes where ideas come from. I know a lot of people complain about writer’s block and can’t find inspiration. Sometimes it can come from unexpected sources even from something said in an email. There are  times when I have more ideas than I know what to do with. I have to write them down and keep them in a file for when I am looking for inspiration. Some times inspiration comes from a dream. I then have to quickly write it out so that I won’t forget. I did have one idea that I went one step further to see if it would develop into a story or a book. Over the summer I filled a notebook with outlines and character descriptions and a rough book idea. I just let myself write what ever came into my mind. Even though it is good to have fresh ideas it is very important to finish things that are started. After all the imagination does need a little time off. Working on books can be tiring but it also can release emotions that you didn’t know were buried down deep inside. Writing and drawing can be therapeutic at times.

My project for this fall and winter is to finish editing Magical Garden and start sending it off to publishers. It will be hard to let my baby go. Then I will have to start working on the second book in the series which has been started and will just need some revising and editing. I have an idea growing for a third book in the series.

I have also set up a website. It is mhembroffwriterartist.com

I will be putting in some examples of my writing there as well.

About mhembroff

I am a graduate student from Ashworth college. I am an artist and belong to a local art club. I am a member of The Writers Guild of Alberta, fighting book worm in the write4kids cbic clubhouse and member of The SCBWI and attend local workshops whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to favorite authors

  1. nelle says:

    I read Kathleen McGowan’s The Expected One and thoroughly enjoyed it. Best wishes with your first as it heads off to publishing.

Comments are closed.