What is the longest you could go without the internet?

What is the longest you could go without the internet?

It is amazing that just a few short years ago I was afraid to turn the computer on. Then I took a course at opportunity 45 which included a basic computer course using windows. I had taken other computer courses before but nothing ever stuck due to lack of practice. I think that recent course was the best thing I ever did. Now I find that it very rare that I go a day without using the internet in some way or other.

When we did the renovations on the main floor I was without the computer for a couple of weeks. It drove me crazy not to have access to it. My son didn’t really understand as he doesn’t use the computer very often and now doesn’t like using email but prefers to phone people instead.

I do miss the time when everyone wrote long letters to each other. I used to go to my parents home and there was always a letter or two from other family members. That was when we would catch up on all the news. Now some of that catching up is done on Facebook which allows me to see what see what other family members are doing.. That is progress I guess. Who says that senior citizens can’t learn new things.

I find that the internet can be a useful research tool which can either kill or save a lot of time. Time seems to pass quickly when you are surfing the net. I think that now I would miss it very much if I didn’t have access to it. It can be a good way to keep in touch with family that lives a fair distance away.

In some ways we have lost some of the personal touch that went with the actual writing of those Christmas letters and it seems difficult to find the time to actually sit down and do it. It is often easier to send a quick email every so often. It is much quicker than waiting for a letter to come.

 

About mhembroff

I am the author of Bess's Magical Garden, a middle grade novel and picture book Gramma Mouse Tells a Story. I am the member of the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators, Writers Guild of Alberta and Rave Reviews Book Club. My series The Ghostly Encounters and other short stories can be found on https://www.channillo.com, listed in the short story section. I have been an avid reader since early childhood and has always been imaginative. It wasn't until my children were growing up that I started taking writing classes and put my creations onto paper. When I'm not writing I like to paint, draw, work in the garden and spend time with my pets and family.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What is the longest you could go without the internet?

  1. taureanw says:

    Great question!
    I could go the rest of my life without internet, I would just go clinically insane….. 🙂

  2. nelle says:

    It does help in some ways, but I like a personal touch now and again. My 83 year old mom does great with a computer…

    I went 21 months without access, and did fine. I went two and a half days without earlier this week and went nuts. 🙂

  3. Deb says:

    Ahhh, but the letters could still be written – just delivered sooo much faster. 😉

Comments are closed.