Thursdays thoughts

I was thinking about what to write about a few days ago but at the time I drew a blank.

I have been busy revising and editing my book and I really didn’t have time for much else.

It is approaching one of the busiest times of the year. It doesn’t have to be stressful though. I don’t spend a lot of time rushing around the malls doing Christmas shopping. I believe it is better to do a little planning ahead of time so that you at least have an idea what you are going to buy. Of course there is always the chance what you plan on getting isn’t available in which case have a back up plan. It isn’t a happy season for a lot of folks though. This time of year I like to get out the Christmas music and reminisce about past Christmas’s when everything was a little simpler.

I was reading an article about the hazards there are for our pets. It can be hazardous for our furry friends to get into ribbons, tinsel and some of the fancy decorations we have at Christmas. Even the water that keeps real Christmas trees alive can be full of chemicals that can be harmful for dogs if they use it as a water bowl. So when you are preparing for the festivities keep our furry friends in mind. If you are not sure about what is safe for your pet do some research or ask your vet.

Here’s a little something I wrote a few years ago

Love

Love can be sweet

Growing slowly

From a friendship

Love can be bitter

Growing quickly

Like a bolt of lightning

Love can be joyful

Very carefree

Also productive

Growing stronger everyday

Love can hurt

Breaking a heart in two

Like a knife stabbing

Creating intense pain

Leaving wounds that never heal

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About mhembroff

I am the author of Bess's Magical Garden, a middle grade novel and picture book Gramma Mouse Tells a Story. I am the member of the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators, Writers Guild of Alberta and Rave Reviews Book Club. My series The Ghostly Encounters and other short stories can be found on https://www.channillo.com, listed in the short story section. I have been an avid reader since early childhood and has always been imaginative. It wasn't until my children were growing up that I started taking writing classes and put my creations onto paper. When I'm not writing I like to paint, draw, work in the garden and spend time with my pets and family.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thursdays thoughts

  1. nelle says:

    Well said, good poem. Our kitties used to get into the tree and raise mischief, while the dog just barrelled it trying to get a good look out the window.

Comments are closed.