My Book

I am now in the process of rewriting my book from first person to third person. I have also changed the title to “The Silvers Move to Parkdale”

I thought I was finished and sent it off to a small press in Ontario. They said they read each one and would edit one page. You had to state in the cover letter that you were open to their comments. It came back quickly which I didn’t think was a good sign. When I looked at it there were a lot of comments on how to improve it. I set it aside and took my dog for a walk. I read the comments a couple of times before I started rewriting. I had known deep down inside something was wrong but I didn’t know how to fix things. One of the comments was to have ten percent dialogue to ninety percent narrative. I have been going through adding bits of description and deleting large chunks that aren’t bringing things forward or don’t make much difference in the story. Some of the dialogue has been changed to narrative. That way I am still keeping the important parts.

Those comments can be a little hard to take at first. Once I got past the ouch phase, I was able to start editing.

I entered the first ten pages in a local contest I found in the Writer Guild of Alberta’s newsletter. It is for late bloomers and first time writers which at least puts me on an even playing field.

It doesn’t pay to get in to big of a hurry to send things off to a publisher. I have rewritten it many times and have lost track. It will take as many times as necessary. I have heard of writers who have rewritten things between ten to twenty times.

It was like the times I got stuck on a painting when I first started painting. I would look at my painting and knew something was wrong but didn’t know how to fix it. Now I can play around with paintings and fix what is wrong. Hopefully I will eventually be able to do this with my writing.

I have found a writing group that meets at the library. The only cost is my library card. I am going to try that out with some of my short stories. I am going to attend a good workshop next weekend. The speaker is award winning writer Fred Stenson. He won awards for his descriptive writing. It is about getting the right words in describing scenery. I should be interesting.

 

 

About mhembroff

I am the author of Bess's Magical Garden, a middle grade novel and picture book Gramma Mouse Tells a Story. I am the member of the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators, Writers Guild of Alberta and Rave Reviews Book Club. My series The Ghostly Encounters and other short stories can be found on https://www.channillo.com, listed in the short story section. I have been an avid reader since early childhood and has always been imaginative. It wasn't until my children were growing up that I started taking writing classes and put my creations onto paper. When I'm not writing I like to paint, draw, work in the garden and spend time with my pets and family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Book

  1. sleepyxyz says:

    Good luck with the book….and don’t be disheartened! Constructive criticism is good for you, it’ll help you improve…..I’m interested in writing books too but I need an idea.I’m still processing. I hope that you remain dedicated to improving your book,don’t give up.

  2. nelle says:

    Exchanging writings and ideas with other writers is a good thing to do… you will refine and acquire the art of editing, just as you suggest you did with painting. It all comes with experience. Best wishes!

Comments are closed.