illustrating

I have started illustrating my picture books. Someone approached me a couple of weeks ago about illustrating a small book for her. She has started doing the family story in picture book format. I said I would try. Once I got started it was actually fun. It is a lot of hard work but I quickly got the hang of it. The important thing is she liked the sketches. They were pen and ink. At that point I decided I would illustrate my own. I will then make copies for my grandson. I will still have copies to send out. I will keep trying to publish them illustrated.

There is a good book that you might find interesting. I have just finished reading Lightening by Fred Stenson  It is a historical book  set in the late 1900’s. The main character is a cowboy who starts out in Montana. There he connects with a man who wants some cattle taken up to newly formed Alberta. They drive these cattle to the Cochrane Ranch through all kinds of dangers. They have to deal with Indians, storms and problems with the crew. He is hoping by keeping on the move that he will escape someone who has threatened to kill him. He makes new friends along the way and he also looses a few. He was hired on as the trail boss due to his experience. The cowboys do cowboy things throughout the story. The book is well researched and written. All the way through the book I could feel his pain and visualize the landscape.

Fred Stenson is an award winning author and lives in Alberta. The book should be easy to get. Locally it can be purchased in the Glenbow Museum’s gift shop.  Larger bookstores would probably carry it. It could also be ordered  through Coles on line store.

I finally got my books for my research on Upper Canada. I just finished my book on time. Now my reading will go back to research.

I sent my book The Silvers Move to Parkdale off to a professional reader. I will get it back between six to eight weeks. Someone is reading the sequel. She is mainly watching for the obviousness mistakes. In the mean time I am continuing with the revisions on Willow Creek Park.

Between illustrating and doing revisions I will be busy. I have also got started on cleaning up the yard. When I have spent the morning with my other work I am glad to go outside and do other things. Sometimes story solutions come to me when I am out in the yard or walking the dog.

About mhembroff

I am the author of Bess's Magical Garden, a middle grade novel and picture book Gramma Mouse Tells a Story. I am the member of the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators, Writers Guild of Alberta and Rave Reviews Book Club. My series The Ghostly Encounters and other short stories can be found on https://www.channillo.com, listed in the short story section. I have been an avid reader since early childhood and has always been imaginative. It wasn't until my children were growing up that I started taking writing classes and put my creations onto paper. When I'm not writing I like to paint, draw, work in the garden and spend time with my pets and family.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.