Rainy Friday

morris

It is hard to believe that I have actually had thirty posts. There are times when I simply can’t find anything to write about. Then there are times when ideas seem to flow so fast that it is hard to keep up with them.

Most days I start doing illustrations with my morning coffee and then turning on the computer and do some revisions. I am illustrating some small books for a friend who is writing her family history so it is easy for her seven-year old grandson to  understand. It is her way of preserving their family stories. I am working on revisions for a novel Willow Creek. This is a story of two young girls who lose their parents and two brothers in a house fire. Their older sister is visiting with her future in-laws and their oldest brother is living out west and has a home stead. They are invited to visit with their Great Aunt. The three girls go to their Grandparents farm to live. Their aunt and uncle and cousins live on the farm as well. Their extended family helps them adjust and  move on to live a well-adjusted life.

Today I started my day differently. My oldest daughter came to pick me up and we went to watch my Grandson in the play the kindergarten kids put on. They did a small play about  The Little Red Hen. After lunch I took my little dog for a walk and just made it home before it started to rain. They are forecasting sunny weather for next week, thank goodness.

I am still waiting for my chapter book The Silvers Move to Parkdale to come back from the professional reader. I will probably come back next month sometime. It will be interesting to see what they have to say. From the last critic I had I did learn that you only want ten percent dialogue to ninety percent narrative. It is a learning process you learn as you go. That is just what one of Garth Brooks songs says. Life is a dance and you learn as you go.

About mhembroff

I am the author of Bess's Magical Garden, a middle grade novel and picture book Gramma Mouse Tells a Story. I am the member of the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators, Writers Guild of Alberta and Rave Reviews Book Club. My series The Ghostly Encounters and other short stories can be found on https://www.channillo.com, listed in the short story section. I have been an avid reader since early childhood and has always been imaginative. It wasn't until my children were growing up that I started taking writing classes and put my creations onto paper. When I'm not writing I like to paint, draw, work in the garden and spend time with my pets and family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.