on writting

There is a love hate relationship with writing. There are times when I will do just about everything but write but  writing it is also a compulsion. It is not a want to most times but a have to. It seems that my life isn’t complete unless I am doing some writing of some kind. Revisions and editing are the hardest but absolute necessity as it is next to impossible to write a perfect draft of a book or story the first time. It can be difficult sometimes to find the words for the image you have in your mind. Those words can come when you least expect them so it is advisable to always keep a note-book on hand. I have notebooks all over the house and even a small one in my purse. Ideas can come from the most unusual places and sometimes even from dreams.

During the week I write in the mornings but I decided  need to take weekends off revisions and other writing so I can start fresh  the following week. There was a time when I didn’t seem to have time for blogging and other things due to the heavy load of writing.

This feels like where I am supposed to be and what I am supposed to be doing. When I first started writing I sure didn’t realize that it could take so many revisions to write a book. I can now see why everyone says it takes three or four years. Once I started illustrating my picture book I can certainly see why it can take two to three years to publish  one. When I read through the story to start illustrating the rewrites also began as there wasn’t enough details in the story. The story has also improved since that time. The illustrations are in mixed medium, using color pencil, water-color pencil and pen and ink. A lot of my paintings are along that line so my work has gradually been building up to this point.

About mhembroff

I am a graduate student from Ashworth college. I am an artist and belong to a local art club. I am a member of The Writers Guild of Alberta, fighting book worm in the write4kids cbic clubhouse and member of The SCBWI and attend local workshops whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to on writting

  1. Pete Denton says:

    I think many people have the same type of relationship about writing. A compulsion that most people don’t understand unless they write themselves. And, it does take FOREVER to finish the product. Happy writing 🙂

Comments are closed.