in the garden

Well I was going to insert a picture but wasn’t able to. I went into (add media) but wasn’t able to bring up photo’s other that the ones already in the gallery. So I will write this with the printed photo setting in front of me. I will have to figure out how to add more photo’s into the photo gallery.

A few years ago I planted a row of mallow seeds in the garden, but most of them went to seed. The flowers resemble a hollyhock. They were a deep purple and very pretty. The next year there was a large full area of them that had self seeded.  This went on for a few years , and I wasn’t to concerned as the space wasn’t needed. The flowers attracted a lot of bees and unfortunately wasps. Then I started planting potatoes in that area and hoed out most of the flowers , allowing a row of them to stay along the fence creating a pretty background.

One year that especially comes to mind is the time there was one of the flowering plants sprung up in a sunny area just in front of the hedge. It was a sturdy plant so I let it grow. Big mistake. The   plants don’t usually grow very tall, maybe about two feet at the most.  This plant grew to be over six feet tall and three or four feet in diameter. It practically took over. It was a pretty plant all summer but towards fall it was covered with wasps. In order to cut it down it was necessary to go out near dusk to avoid the wasps. I succeeded in cutting it down without getting stung which was fortunate.

I have never had one grow that tall again and have kept most of the plants hoed or pulled out when they were little. If anyone has had hollyhocks in your garden you know how they can take over if you are not carefull. These purple flowers are pretty,  easy to grow but  almost like a weed at times.

About mhembroff

I am the author of Bess's Magical Garden, a middle grade novel and picture book Gramma Mouse Tells a Story. I am the member of the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators, Writers Guild of Alberta and Rave Reviews Book Club. My series The Ghostly Encounters and other short stories can be found on https://www.channillo.com, listed in the short story section. I have been an avid reader since early childhood and has always been imaginative. It wasn't until my children were growing up that I started taking writing classes and put my creations onto paper. When I'm not writing I like to paint, draw, work in the garden and spend time with my pets and family.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.