The effects of music

Music can have a positive or negative effect on your life. It can make you extremely happy or very sad. Some singers can touch you in a way that leaves you in awe of their talent and how they sing from their heart and soul.

A few nights ago I watched a repeat of an Elvis Presley concert that was done eleven years ago. It is amazing what they can do with modern technology. They removed all the background and live musicians played on the stage. They showed Elvis performing on the middle screen and played the soundtrack of him singing. They had two side screen with the live musicians and back ground singers on both side screens. The concert was called “Elvis Lives.”

It took me back to when I was sixteen and longed to see “GI Blues.” That weekend my older sister and husband were visiting. I asked my brother-in-law to give me a ride into town to see the movie. He said he would if I washed his car, which I did. He probably would have anyway, but I guess he needed his car cleaned and saw an opportunity. Well, away we went Saturday afternoon, and I sat entranced throughout the movie. I had my bucket of popcorn and Elvis in front of me on the large screen.I don’t know if I would go to a movie alone now. Probably not but at sixteen it didn’t bother me in the least.

Elvis had a knack of taking you out of yourself with his music. He touched my heart and soul that no other singer has ever done. He was a very talented man, but you have to look beyond his bad habits. It was unfortunate, but he couldn’t handle the fame, fans and money he made. He was among a few other performers who couldn’t deal with overnight success. It was a rags to riches story.

In order to have a personal life away from the prying eyes of fans many performers build large estates that are hidden from the public. In order to succeed as a performer they need a good support system.

Elvis was one of the first popular rock and roll stars and laid the foundation for modern pop music. He was criticised for his performance on stage, but he continued doing things his way. He delighted his numerous fans which are still there today. His music is just as popular or maybe more popular today as it was back then. It is easy to find his cd’s at most music stores.

About mhembroff

I am a graduate student from Ashworth college. I am an artist and belong to a local art club. I am a member of The Writers Guild of Alberta, fighting book worm in the write4kids cbic clubhouse and member of The SCBWI and attend local workshops whenever I can.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.