To Move or Stay

Have you ever been undecided about doing something ? Yet deep down inside you knew that you wanted to do it.

When I was working downtown I would sometimes look through house listings during my break, when a paper was on the table. I noticed a few in a nearby small town. The prices were a lot less than in the city.

For the longest time I was undecided about selling and moving. Then I started having dreams about a small house. The house in my dream was white but I didn’t have the privilege of seeing inside.

At that time my house was in a central location close to downtown where I worked. There were busses that went in several directions. Shopping was handy as well. The prices of everything started sky rocking making it hard to manage, especially after I retired and lived on a restricted income. The discussion about fixing up the rest of the house and putting it on the market were frequent, but that was all it was.

Then finally discussion stopped and work began on the outside of the house. That winter the upstairs bathroom was gutted and everthing purchased. It seemed to take forever but the work was finally done and the house was listed. Then came the viewings, but there were no takers not even someone lowballing. It seemed for a while that the house just wasn’t going to sell but it did.

I  found a house  I loved that suited me and my son. The house is white, and in a  central location just a short walk to downtown. It is a split level with two bedrooms upstairs and an apartment in the basement with a separate entry.

The closing of the old house and possession of the new one was on the same day, which was Tuesday following the long weekend. It was tight and I didn’t receive the phone call until twelve thirty(Noon). After loading up the animals, a dog, two cats and two budgies, in separate vehicles we were on our way. We had a convoy going down the highway. The next chapter was beginning.

It was the beginning of summer and a hot day but the move went smoothly.

Now the boxes are unpacked and most things have found a spot. All those boxes! Life is starting to settle down to a normal routine finally. It was a hot summer but now fall is fast approaching.

I now look out at trees in the back yard that are often full of a variety of birds some I haven’t seen before.

About mhembroff

I am a graduate student from Ashworth college. I am an artist and belong to a local art club. I am a member of The Writers Guild of Alberta, fighting book worm in the write4kids cbic clubhouse and member of The SCBWI and attend local workshops whenever I can.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.