Why do I write?

Good question. Sometimes I think I’m crazy to write but it is a necessary piece of the puzzle that makes me a whole person. It is a love hate situation. There are times when I hate to write and will do everything else but write. My day often starts off at the computer working on one project or other. Even if I don’t have a project there is still the compulsion to write so that is when I do a lot of my blogging. Creating is something I have always felt compelled to do ever since my early childhood.

Staring at a blank screen or a blank piece of paper can be intimidating but once there are a few notes written it can start things off.

It is the same with art work. Both art work and writing are therapeutic and can help release pent-up emotions that would stay buried deep inside.

I think mainly why I write is because it is what I am meant to do. The stories have always been whirling around in my head but they never made any sense when they finally reached the paper. Finally as I grew older I learned to get out of my own way. Then with reading books on writing techniques and practicing what I was reading the magic started to happen. Writing is a full-time job which can be frustrating and also rewarding especially when you finally see your name and story in a magazine.

I do know that I am doing exactly what I was meant to do at this stage in my life. I now live in a quite small town that has lots of scope for the imagination.

About mhembroff

I am the author of Bess's Magical Garden, a middle grade novel and picture book Gramma Mouse Tells a Story. I am the member of the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators, Writers Guild of Alberta and Rave Reviews Book Club. My series The Ghostly Encounters and other short stories can be found on https://www.channillo.com, listed in the short story section. I have been an avid reader since early childhood and has always been imaginative. It wasn't until my children were growing up that I started taking writing classes and put my creations onto paper. When I'm not writing I like to paint, draw, work in the garden and spend time with my pets and family.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.