The Phone Call

The sound of the phone ringing penetrated into my groggy state. At first it didn’t dawn on me that it was the phone and not the alarm clock. Half asleep I reached over and picked up the receiver.  The voice on the other end was familiar but I couldn’t think of who it was.  It turned out to be an old friend who I hadn’t heard from for years. At one time we had been very close and had a lot of fun.  Once I realized it was, an old and dear friend  I was laughing and crying at the same time. In our single carefree days we were very close but had gone our separate ways and lost touch. We talked for over half an hour.

We corresponded for a long time but I never got to see her again. Then suddenly she stopped writing. I was determined not to lose touch with her again. I went down to the public library and was able to get her phone number. I phoned a couple of days later and it was her husband who picked up the phone. That was when I received the news that she had passed away from a illness. Her letters had always been so optimistic and upbeat that I never sensed the seriousness of her illness. She had been talking about coming out west for a visit.  I was saddened by the news but was glad that we had been in touch again. It was good to know what had happened in her life. I will always remember her as the fun-loving person that she was and not someone who was constantly in pain. She was there in my life when I needed her and was a shoulder to lean on through some trying times. I think now that she has become my guardian angel and is looking down at me with a smile.

About mhembroff

I am the author of Bess's Magical Garden, a middle grade novel and picture book Gramma Mouse Tells a Story. I am the member of the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators, Writers Guild of Alberta and Rave Reviews Book Club. My series The Ghostly Encounters and other short stories can be found on https://www.channillo.com, listed in the short story section. I have been an avid reader since early childhood and has always been imaginative. It wasn't until my children were growing up that I started taking writing classes and put my creations onto paper. When I'm not writing I like to paint, draw, work in the garden and spend time with my pets and family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.