Writing Progress

The writing seed was planted when I first read LM Montgomery’s Anne books. LM Montgomery has always been a big inspiration. There were many attempts at writing during school assignments but nothing significant. In high school, during an English exam,  I wrote a story about getting stuck in a revolving door. At the time I had never heard of a revolving door let along use one. For many years I didn’t make any attempts at writing until moving to Alberta. Then I started writing in a journal recording thoughts and everyday events. Then I took a correspondence course on writing that I never finished. There were several unfinished courses  and I decided I wasn’t cut out to be a writer. Instead I concentrated on art which I was good at.

Then I started to have weird dreams. One I was sitting looking at a book. As far as I could tell there wasn’t a cover or printing on the pages. This puzzled me but in a way didn’t seem unusual because I often had a book in my hands. Then I had another dream of two books without covers and several dreams of multiple books. There were many weird art dreams which didn’t make any sense at all.

One evening at an art meeting a couple of us started talking about dreams. My friend told me I was supposed to write the book and put the title on the cover. That blew my mind at first. Then a few days later I started doodling and scribbling as an idea took place in my mind. I had an idea for a book but didn’t have any idea how to proceed. I took a course that I completed and soon had a rough draft of a book. That was the beginning of Bess’s Magical Garden. There have been hundreds of revisions to make it the book it is now becoming.

In between revision I have written rough drafts of other books and stories. One book has been shelved for sure but some of the material might make good short stories. One of my stories Forbidden Swim, creative non-fiction, has been published in Canadian Stories. It is in volume 18, No 101 for the year of 2015.

I decided to self-publish my book because I felt it was a good story that should be shared with others. There have been a few more revisions since January. I am now in the process of reviewing the second proof. I am using assisted publishing with Friesen Press, a Canadian publisher. I have done black and white illustrations for the interior and an acrylic painting for the cover. It will soon be out and will be in hard cover, soft cover and e-book

About mhembroff

I am a graduate student from Ashworth college. I am an artist and belong to a local art club. I am a member of The Writers Guild of Alberta, fighting book worm in the write4kids cbic clubhouse and member of The SCBWI and attend local workshops whenever I can.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.