My inspiration

Approximately three years ago I started to have weird dreams. In those dreams I was always holding a book or two that had blank pages and nothing on the cover. Some of these dreams were art related. It left me feeling puzzled until an acquaintance who liked to interpret dreams said that I was supposed to write the book and do the cover. I didn’t believe her at the time. Then one morning an idea came to me. I thought of writing a story about a little girl who adopts a cat based on the time my oldest daughter had adopted a cat that our neighbor no longer wanted Then the questions came, who, why, where, when, etc. That is how my character Bess was born.

I had no idea how to put a book together so I enrolled in a online writing course. At the end of this course I had a rough first draft completed. I did have helpers who read the book at different stages and I received many good suggestions.

I did have to do some research about life style and fashions during the 1950’s. I grew up during that time period but there was a lot of small details I had forgotten. One of my acquaintances helped with some of the details. I also had to do some research on polio because my main character is in the final stages of recovery. All I needed was a few basics to make it sound authentic.

At one point I lost a bulk of the book on the computer but after a lot of searching found most of it. I had to retype it and the  outcome was different than it had been. No matter how much you want to you can never write things the same way twice.

There were many obstacles along the way and many new drafts. It meant dedicating most of my mornings to working on my book. I had other projects on the go at the same time so I would go back and forth between them so I wouldn’t memorize any of them.

Finally there was  a light at the end of the tunnel and completion was in sight. The book, Bess’s Magical Garden,is now published. I am working on a promotion plan and another book.

Here is a quote from the book that set the magical theme.

“For a brief second she thought she saw an archway covered with orange flowers that lead into a colourful garden. It was gone in an instant.”

 

 

 

About mhembroff

I am a graduate student from Ashworth college. I am an artist and belong to a local art club. I am a member of The Writers Guild of Alberta, fighting book worm in the write4kids cbic clubhouse and member of The SCBWI and attend local workshops whenever I can.
This entry was posted in literature, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.