cat in book

morris

One of Morris’s favorite spots on the couch

When I was looking for a cat to model my book cat, Pumpkin, from I looked no further than my own cat Morris.

The idea of the cat in Bess’s Magical Garden came from the time my oldest daughter adopted a grey long haired tabby our next door neighbor didn’t want. That cats name was Goofy because he did goofy things. They had been threatening to have him put down if we hadn’t taken him.

Some of the things the cat in the book does are what Morris himself does. Morris tries to be helpful when I am writing and often wants to be on my lap and will politely ask to come up onto the lap top when it is on my lap. This access is denied of course. Morris loves to cuddle and likes all people. Morris will often lay on my papers when I am trying to read printed copies of my work which doesn’t help much. He always follows me around the house like a puppy. In his case he is strictly an indoor cat. Being out doors would terrify him.

Morris was a big inspiration and the book cat Pumpkin is a blend of Morris and Goofy. Goofy was a big affectionate cat as well and my kids could use him for a pillow at times. My youngest daughter could carry Goofy around the house and she never got scratched. Goofy liked most people. There was a time when we were renovating and Goofy didn’t like what was going on so he peed in a box of nails which didn’t impress my husband. Goofy was an indoor outside cat. He was older when we adopted him and didn’t like spending all his time inside. He was always home to eat and when he got older spent the nights inside.

https://twitter.co/margiesart1

https://mhembroffwriterartist.com

About mhembroff

I am a graduate student from Ashworth college. I am an artist and belong to a local art club. I am a member of The Writers Guild of Alberta, fighting book worm in the write4kids cbic clubhouse and member of The SCBWI and attend local workshops whenever I can.
This entry was posted in art, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to cat in book

  1. Olivia Emily says:

    He’s so adorable!!

Comments are closed.