Remembered

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

I was not there.
I did not see the blood and gore
Or know the terror
Of a war.
*
I did not grieve
When friends were lost
Or mourn the maimed
Or human cost.
*
I did not fight
Nor lose my sons
To mustard gas
Or tommy guns.
*
I did not scream,
I did not bleed,
I did not die
In bitter need.
*
I was not born,
I heard their hell
In silent words
They would not tell.
*
I was not there
I could forget
The sacrifice they made
And yet…
*
That I am here,
That I am free,
And not deny
My ancestry
*
That I can choose
Forget…or care…
The gift is theirs,
For they were there.
*

Image result for poppy appeal png

View original post

About mhembroff

I am a graduate student from Ashworth college. I am an artist and belong to a local art club. I am a member of The Writers Guild of Alberta, fighting book worm in the write4kids cbic clubhouse and member of The SCBWI and attend local workshops whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.