Review for Bess’s Magical Garden

I thought this book was really quite lovely! Once I started reading I didn’t want to stop until I’d finished the whole thing, which is easy as it is fast paced and on the shorter side-perfect length to read in an evening. It pulls you in from the beginning as we get to know Bess and her difficult situation (with her health and losing her father), and I enjoyed the author’s “voice” and style of writing. It isn’t easy to write for a younger audience(in this case middle-grade/early teens) and also be interesting enough to make it appealing to adults, but I definitely think that the author M.E. Hembroff managed to pull it off wonderfully! There was beautiful energy and such great characters. The interweaving plot lines were well-crafted and not predictable, and although there were some minor grammatical and punctuation errors, it wasn’t anything that really bothered me. An uplifting children’s tale with a lovely message. I’d love to read more from this author in the future! (5 stars) This is an Indie review.

Follow me on:

https://twitter.com/margiesart1

http://amazon.com/author/mehembroff

https:www.goodreads.com/mehembroff

About mhembroff

I am a graduate student from Ashworth college. I am an artist and belong to a local art club. I am a member of The Writers Guild of Alberta, fighting book worm in the write4kids cbic clubhouse and member of The SCBWI and attend local workshops whenever I can.
This entry was posted in book reviews, books, literature, Uncategorized, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

