5 Star Review

An Indie Review.

From the opening pages of “Bess’s Magical Garden” I knew it would be different from the books I’ve been reading lately and I was right! I loved how M.E. Hembroff writes in a way that has a more ‘classic’ feel, as opposed to modern day…she sets the scenes and characterizations in a skillful way that not only draws us right in, but creates great visualizations and elicits emotional investments. I truly cared about Bess’s life and her struggles to overcome not only her ill health, but losing her father and moving and leaving behind her best friend Megan as well. We get great insight into Bess’s mind with her letters and diary entries, and I was so happy with the ending. And great sketches too! Recommend for ages 10 and older. (5 stars)

About mhembroff

I am a graduate student from Ashworth college. I am an artist and belong to a local art club. I am a member of The Writers Guild of Alberta, fighting book worm in the write4kids cbic clubhouse and member of The SCBWI and attend local workshops whenever I can.
This entry was posted in book reviews, books, literature, reviews, Uncategorized, writing. Bookmark the permalink.