Author spotlight; I eat chocolate and I throw things.

I don’t deal well with frustration. I only have a few emotional enemies, and that is at the very top of the list. Not many things can reduce me to a fussy pole of unproductivity quite like frustration.

Being a visually disabled writer is interesting, to say the least. I used to do pretty well in the typing department, doing upwards of 60 wpm. I enjoyed typing, and could get my thoughts on the page pretty quickly once I had figured out what those thoughts would be. Writing was fun, and I just knew the the next Great American Novel was only a few quick keystrokes away.

But then I was diagnosed with diabetic retinopathy, and for my vision, it was all downhill from there . My 20-40 vision went into the triple digits, and then started fading altogether. Later on, I developed glaucoma and ischermia, neither of which I found amusing. Two months ago I learned that I now have macular degeneration. Fortunately, the shots that I’m already getting in my eyes are the same ones used to treat md, so at least I’m hot having to deal with more shots.

My vision loss has really changed the actual act of writing for me. When I write, I sit on my couch with my laptop on the coffee table in front of me. When I am seated in the “proper” position to type, I’m too far from the screen to read what I’m writing or to see if there are any mistakes. So I lean forward until my chin is over the outside edge of the laptop, at archaic point I can read what’s on the screen, provided the font is large and bold. But typing in that positioning is hard to do and impossible to do quickly. So I prop my chin on my left hand and do the hunt and peck thing with my right. So much for 60 words per minute.

Needless to say, what used to be a quick and easy process is now anything but. Add in the fact that my characters tend to be downright bossy when it comes to how they are written, and it tends to get pretty ugly around here.

Which brings me back to the topic of how frustration is absolutely not my friend. But…..chocolate is. We’re actually much more than friends, having been in a long-term relationship for the past few decades. Chocolate is by far my favorite snack, and it’s always what I reach for when I need to slow things down and step away from life for a while. There’s just something about chocolate’s rich flavor and silky texture that lets me trade whatever trauma drama I’m involved in for a few minutes of delicious relaxation. Frustration happens, but chocolate usually helps me get to the other side without tearing my hair out.

And if that doesn’t work, I throw things. I actually have fairly gook aim for an almost blind girl. So far, I’ve managed to avoid breaking the TV, which is a good things. I suppose I should admit that I’m talking about the current TV. The last TV didn’t fare quite as well. But in my defense, I’d been having a fairly aggressive go-round with Decker, the main character in the Drill series. I knew exactly where he “needed” to go but he didn’t agree and the battle began. After four days of 24/7 writer’s block, I was a bit testy, to say the least.

Since then, I’ve removed anything heavy from within grabbing distance of my place on the couch, I rolled six pairs of socks, and put them in a box on the floor where they are easily accessible should the need arise. My aim is still off, more times than not, but I no longer break things, and the cats have learned to duck. I recently purchased the Dragon software, which is really helping with my writing, and I keep the chocolate bowl full. So as long as I stay on Decker’s good side, everything is more or less okay.

***

BOOK BLURB:

(https://t.co/QzD2ODjvKk)

A brutal experience transforms an unproven young tough into a ruthless killing machine. For 15 years he waited, building his body into an unstoppable weapon so that vengeance would be had through the strength of his will and the power of his hands.

****

AUTHOR BIO:

Rhani D’Chae is a visually impaired writer, reader, and lover of cats. She is currently working on teh second book in the Drill series, about an repentant enforcer and the violent life that he leads.

Twitter-@rhanidchae

Facebook-http://goo.gl/UvY4YY

Website-rhanidechae.com

About mhembroff

I am the author of Bess's Magical Garden, a middle grade novel and picture book Gramma Mouse Tells a Story. I am the member of the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators, Writers Guild of Alberta and Rave Reviews Book Club. My series The Ghostly Encounters and other short stories can be found on https://www.channillo.com, listed in the short story section. I have been an avid reader since early childhood and has always been imaginative. It wasn't until my children were growing up that I started taking writing classes and put my creations onto paper. When I'm not writing I like to paint, draw, work in the garden and spend time with my pets and family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Author spotlight; I eat chocolate and I throw things.

  1. ~Mar says:

    Thanks so much for hosting Rhani during her SA blog tour!! Looking forward to the remainder of the fun!! πŸ™‚

  2. Rhani, thanks for the insights into your challenges as a visually disabled writer. As a diabetic, I live in constant fear that I’ll lose my sight too. So far I’ve been blessed. You are a very talented author and I’m so happy to hear that your new software is working out well. Thanks for hosting, Margie!

    • mhembroff says:

      Your welcome. Her story is encouraging to everyone.

    • Rhani D'Chae says:

      Hi John. Thanks so much fof stopping by today. You’re so awesome! To be honest, Dragon & I aren’t speaking at the moment, but hopefully we’ll kiss & make up soon. Lol I’m glad your eyes haven’t been affected. You’re very lucky. I just finished reviewing #Passion. It was awesome! πŸ˜ƒ

      • Aren’t we a mutual admiration society! Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review Passion & Struggle – and for your kind words! Have a great blog tour!

  3. Rhani D'Chae says:

    Margie, thank you so much for hosting this stop on my tour. πŸ˜ƒ

  4. Rhani D'Chae says:

    Margie, thank you so much for hosting this stop on my tour. πŸ˜€

  5. Oh, Rhani, it is good to laugh at oneself, to have this positive spirit you display about your condition. I don’t know what I will do if I find myself there, which is why I pray every day that God will continue to keep me in good health, all the minor pains and aches notwithstanding… πŸ˜€ Thank you Margie for hosting her.

  6. Gregg says:

    There is no introduction needed, but I will give one anyway, my name is Gregg (aka GE Shaw) I met Rhani a little over a year ago through my daughter (Jasmyn) she is an hair stylist. The long jess of this story is, I am writer, as well, so my daughter thought it would be beneficial to both of us. How true that statement was, especially, on my behalf. The benefits of meeting a wonderfully gifted writer has been enormous to me not only as a visual in-depth writer but a friend also…I admire, a person with the determination to fight adversity and succeed where others might have failed. As far as her book goes never been truly into the violent, acoustic verbiage of language us in telling a story, but in her case the wording works…It requires that needed “shock and awe” to grab hold of a reader’s imagination and it does just that…Keep doing you, and I will continuing to follow you and your boy (Decker’s dark voyages)…Voyages that pulls you into the depths of his own psyche’….as always, keep striving and you will get everything you love in life…God bless!!!

    • Rhani D'Chae says:

      Gregg, I’m so glad you decided to stop by! Thank you for your very kind words. I’m also very glad we met, and I value your friendship. I’m so glad to hear that your show is almost up and running. *Hugs*

  7. Mae Clair says:

    Rhani, I can’t imagine how hard it must be to write given the obstacles in your path, but your spirit of determination and your sense of humor shines through. I know a few other writers who have used Dragon. I guess when you love writing, you find a way, whatever the obstacles. Thanks for sharing your story. Margie, thank you for hosting Rhani on her tour!

  8. Rhani, your sense of humor regarding your vision condition and writing needs is highly commendable. When it lapses, I’m glad you have the chocolate and good ole arm toss to fall back on. Good job!

    • Rhani D'Chae says:

      Flossie, thank you for stopping by. Chocolate has saved my sanity more times than I can count. Not to mention, having it to turn to is probably the only thing that has kept my roomies from throwing me out of the house on my ginormous fussy butt. πŸ˜„

  9. Shirley Harris-Slaughter says:

    Rhani it sure is interesting learning new things about you. My brother has diabetes and suffers with finger numbness just like you. It sure makes me feel blessed that I still have everything intact and to stop my complaining. I admire you for handling your limitations so well. I’m enjoying your tours very much. Thank you Margie for hosting this gifted writer.

    • Rhani D'Chae says:

      Shirley, it’s wonderful to see you here today. I’m so grateful for your friendship and support. I’m sorry to hear that your brother is dealing with diabetic fall out. I can sure relate to that. I actually don’t know if it’s the stroke or the diabetes that is responsible for my sensation loss, so I put them both on my “Must Swear At” list, and then give them a good cussing out whenever the mood strikes me. πŸ˜…

  10. Nice look into you… I have two of your problems: poor eyesight (20-1300) and love of chocolate. Mmmm. Although I’m not sure the last is that much of a problem, except for the extra pounds I have to work off. –Rebecca Carter, writing as Ronesa Aveela

    • mhembroff says:

      I also love chocolate. I usually try not to have any in the house most of the time. Here’s something to try lemon yogurt with a teaspoon of coco stirred in. It tastes like chocolate pudding. You get something nutritious while taking care of your craving.

      • Rhani D'Chae says:

        I’ve never done that with lemon yogurt, But I do pretty much the same thing with tofu and a banana. Thanks so much for stopping by & checking out my post.

    • Rhani D'Chae says:

      Hi Rebecca. Thanks for checking out this stop. Wow, I didn’t know vision measurement even went to 1.300. I’m so sorry you have to deal with that. Do you get the shots, too?

  11. mhembroff says:

    I can’t eat things like tofu because I am on blood thinners because of AFib, a heart condition. Banana’s are also good in yogurt.

    • Rhani D'Chae says:

      I’m on blood thinners too, because of my stroke. I didn’t know that I shouldn’t eat tofu. I guess I should have read some of the pamphlets they gave me, instead of balling them up and using them to chase cold cats off of a warm DVR. πŸ˜…

  12. Kev says:

    Good luck with the tour, Rhani. Thanks for hosting, Margie!

  13. Soooz says:

    Rhani you are such a marvelous author, and an inspiration to all those that aspire to write and write well.Your humor connected with me like a punch in the solar plexus, and I’m still grinning as I type. This is the kind of absolute dedication to our craft of writing that we all should possess. I’m planning on sending a container load of Aussie style socks, Our sheep are so cool down under! They are happy to share. Have your cats learned to dodge? I’m an insulin dependent diabetic as well, so far my sight is hanging in there, but my frantic efforts to find a suitable substitute for chocolate have been tragically wasted. Grrr … I kill of my characters when it all gets too much. Thanks for hosting today, Margie.

  14. Don’t forget the wine–it goes very well with chocolate. Nobody should have to hit that publish button sober. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.