Review for Janetta and the Book Thief

Janetta and the Book Thief

by B. S. Gibbs

This book is for kids between the ages of 8-12.

One afternoon twelve-year -old Janetta was reading an adventure book and was on the last chapter when the letters started to fade and the last few pages were blank. She dashed into the house and up to her room to find all her books were missing the last chapter.

Janetta was upset and started sobbing. She heard a noise and looked up to see a tiny little girl with transparent wings standing in the corner by her bookcase. Janetta could not believe what she was seeing or what she heard when the girl told her that she was a book fairy. They talked for a few minutes and then after making a circle of her favorite books in the middle of her room Janetta was transported to a magical fairy realm.

Janetta is taken to see the fairy queen who informs her that it was her job to find out who hates books and would take the last chapter out.

There are detailed illustrations throughout the book but it was the cover that caught my attention.  There are a few minor errors near the front of the book which could easily be fixed. They didn’t distract me from the story. The lessons of kindness and friendship are cleverly hidden throughout.

This is a Story Cartel Book.

https://www.amazon.com/author/mehembroff

https;//www.goodreads.com/mehembroff

Proud member of Rave Reviews Book Club

About mhembroff

I am the author of Bess's Magical Garden, a middle grade novel and picture book Gramma Mouse Tells a Story. I am the member of the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators, Writers Guild of Alberta and Rave Reviews Book Club. My series The Ghostly Encounters and other short stories can be found on https://www.channillo.com, listed in the short story section. I have been an avid reader since early childhood and has always been imaginative. It wasn't until my children were growing up that I started taking writing classes and put my creations onto paper. When I'm not writing I like to paint, draw, work in the garden and spend time with my pets and family.
This entry was posted in book reviews, books, children's books, fairy tales, literature, reviews, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.